The Flower Shop Recordings presents Sophia (Robin Proper-Sheppard - acoustic/electric) and special guests Vito.


Robin Proper-Sheppard (Sophia) will take some time out from the writing/recording of his follow-up to Sophia’s successful third full-length album ‘People are Like Seasons’ (2004 - The Flower Shop/City Slang) to get up-close and personal with his longstanding and ever-faithful audience.

Currently living a rather solitary life in a country manor (on loan from a close personal friend) amongst the fields of rural England, Robin Proper-Sheppard will take a short break from the rigours of country-life and embark on a special solo-acoustic/electric tour of smaller, more intimate venues across Europe throughout April and May.

(Rumour has it that the self-styled city boy is finding it difficult to adjust to the local villages only amenities: A church and a pub. Many ask “What more do you need?” And indeed Robin denies this rumour.)

The night will begin with Vito (The newest edition to The Flower Shop Recordings stable of artistes. Debut album: May.) as main support act and will continue with a solo acoustic set by Robin followed by another ‘electrified’ selection of material performed with Vito as Robin’s backing band.

The Sophia Collective expands: Of those that had a opportunity to see Sophia during the tour supporting ‘Seasons’, many will remember the dynamic subtlety and grace that the band brought to the material, both new and old, and we sincerely believe that something truly wonderful will be borne from this new collaboration between Vito’s Sigur Ros/Low/Morricone-inspired soundscapes and Robin Proper-Sheppard’s honest and emotional musical diary.

There is also talk of Robin debuting material from his low-key post-punk-noise-rock side-project The May Queens (Album: S/T 2000). Imagine the MC5, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Fugazi. Interesting…

Expect something old and new, something borrowed and something blue. And then, maybe… something loud!


TOUR DATES
Apr. 12 '06: Ex-machina, Forli (IT), with Vito www.theo.it/ex-machina
Apr. 13 '06: sPAZIO 211, Turin (IT), with Vito www.spazio211.com
Apr. 14 '06: Teatro Comunale, Casalpusterlengo (IT), with Vito www.teatrocomunale-casalpusterlengo.net
Apr. 15 '06: Qube, Rome (IT), with Vito www.qubedisco.com
Apr. 17 '06: La Maroquinerie, Paris (FR), with Vito www.lamaroquinerie.fr
Apr. 19 '06: Bad Bonn, Düdingen (CH), with Vito www.badbonn.ch
Apr. 20 '06: Le Romandie, Lausanne (CH), with Vito www.leromandie.ch SOLD OUT
Apr. 21 '06: El Lokal, Zurich (CH), with Vito www.ellokal.ch SOLD OUT
Apr. 23 '06: Roter Salon, Berlin (DE), with Vito www.rotersalon.de
Apr. 25 '06: B72, Vienna (AT), with Vito www.B72.at
Apr. 26 '06: B72, Vienna (AT), with Vito www.B72.at
Apr. 27 '06: Star Club, Dresden (DE), with Vito www.star-club.de
Apr. 28 '06: Blue Shell, Cologne (DE), with Vito www.blue-shell.de SOLD OUT
Apr. 30 '06: Botanique (Les Nuits Botanique - Rotunde), Brussels (BE), with Vito www.botanique.be SOLD OUT
May 02 '05: Gleis 22, Münster (DE), with Vito www.gleis22.de CANCELLED
May 03 '06: Forum, Bielefeld (DE), with Vito www.forum-bielefeld.com CANCELLED
May 04 '06: Knust, Hamburg (DE), with Vito www.knusthamburg.de
May 05 '06: Mau Club, Rostock (DE), with Vito www.mauclub.de
May 06 '06: Café Glocksee, Hannover (DE), with Vito www.cafe-glocksee.de
May 07 '06: Objekt 5, Halle (DE), with Vito www.objekt5.de
May 09 '06: Arenbergschouwburg, Antwerp (BE), with Vito www.arenbergschouwburg.be SOLD OUT
May 10 '06: Paradiso, Amsterdam (NL), with Okkervil River, Vito www.paradiso.nl
May 12 '06: Vera, Groningen (NL), with Vito www.vera-groningen.nl
May 13 '06: Projekt7, Magdeburg (DE), with Vito www.projekt7.org
May 14 '06: Fisherman's Café, Langenau (DE), with Vito www.fishermanscafe.de
May 15 '06: Feierwerk, Munich (DE), with Vito www.feierwerk.de
May 16 '06: Festung, Traunstein (DE), with Vito www.cafe-festung.de
May 17 '06: Club Schocken, Stuttgart (DE), with Vito www.club-schocken.de
May 18 '06: Hafen 2, Offenbach (DE), with Vito www.rotari.de/hafen2
May 20 '06: Moritzbastei, Leipzig (DE), with Vito www.moritzbastei.de